Senate Democrats Elect New Officers

RICHMONDIn the wake of Treasurer Henry Marsh’s resignation earlier this year, the Senate Democratic Caucus has unanimously elected two new officers. Sen. Louise Lucas (D – Portsmouth), previously Caucus Secretary, was elected Treasurer; Sen. Barbara Favola (D – Arlington) was elected to take Sen. Lucas’ former position as Secretary.

Said Caucus Chair Sen. Donald McEachin (D – Henrico), “I congratulate Sen. Lucas and Sen. Favola on their election. All members of the Caucus work hard for their constituents — and for all Virginians. I am gratified to see both senators seeking out the extra work that these positions entail. I look forward — and I know my colleagues look forward — to great things.”

Sens. Lucas and Favola join Democratic Leader Sen. Dick Saslaw (D – Fairfax), Caucus Chair Sen. McEachin, Caucus Vice Chair Sen. Toddy Puller (D – Fairfax), and Democratic Whips Sen. John Edwards (D – Roanoke) and Sen. Janet Howell (D – Reston) as Caucus officers.

Get Email Updates
From Facebook

Senate Republicans refused to even consider gun violence prevention legislation during the July 9th special session, instead adjourning until after the November elections. The legislation wi…